About Us


 The Charleston Friends of the Library is a nonprofit organization that supports and advocates for the  Charleston County Public Library  system. We raise money to fund more than 6,000 programs sponsored annually by the library, including Summer Reading. To accomplish our goal of advocating for and enhancing the library system, we provide opportunities for the community to invest in their public library through donations of time, money, and books.This year, tens of thousands were helped through supporting the Charleston Friends of the Library. Those helped included young children learning to value reading with help from the Summer Reading Program; teens needing a positive after-school environment; the unemployed building job skills; workers seeking tax assistance; and others reaching across language and cultural barriers. (Yes, a lot more than borrowing books goes on at our library). There is one place in Charleston, a village square, where everyone congregates equally – the public library.

  • We have 16 branches stretching from Edisto to McClellanville;
  • Annually, the library’s circulation exceeds 3.8 million;
  • Patron visits are above 2 million;
  • Over 2 million reference questions are answered;
  • Each of our branches provide wi-fi free of charge;
  • More than 6,000 programs draw audiences of 200,000.


sorting room

Annual Meeting

Wednesday, November 18 at 6:00 p.m.
Join us for our Annual Meeting, Wednesday, November 18 at 6:00 p.m. at the Main Library, 68 Calhoun Street in the auditorium. All Friends’ members and the public are invited to attend. No RSVP is necessary. We will vote on nominees to the Board for 2016, review financial status and update members on 2015 activities. College of Charleston Professor Dr. Ade Ofunniyin will be giving a presentation on the library as a critical community institution.

Proposed 2016 Officers:
President- Dr. Joan Berry-Warder
Past President- Barbara Ball
Treasurer- Clifford Smith
VP of Book Sales- Joan Simpson
VP of Membership- Judy Epps

Proposed New 2016 Board Members:
Dr. Joan Berry-Warder
Edward Brown
Jacara Chas
Maeomee DeVos
Tony Joyner
Jean Meyer
Katie Norris
Dr. Ade Ofunniyin
Saya Powell
Clifford Smith
Andrea Weathers

We connect people to each other, to ideas, and to the larger world.

Click here to sign up for our monthly e-newsletter.